The Collection

The Museum Langmatt collection was significantly founded by Sidney and Jenny Brown between 1900 and 1933. The heart of the collection consists of around 50 outstanding French Impressionist paintings by artists including Cassatt, Cézanne, Degas, Gauguin, Monet, Pissarro, Renoir, and Sisley. This unique ensemble also includes valuable French furniture from the 18th and 19th century, sculptures, drawings, textiles, silver, and porcelain, and also Chinese ceramics.

Read more about the art collection

Digital Collection

Famous Impressionist paintings can be found under the title «Digital Collection» on the collection’s website and on Instagram, accompanied by text by Langmatt director Markus Stegmann from the Chamber of the Heart publication. In some cases, this is supplemented by a short audio piece, written by Daniela Minneboo and taken from the new audioguide to Chamber of the Heart.

All Chamber of the Heart «Audio Pearls»

Exhibition Chamber of the Heart – 30 Years of Museum Langmatt

Highlights

Painting

Graphic

Sculpture

Craft

Schaufenster Archiv

Das neue Vermittlungsgefäss Schaufenster Archiv zeigt in der einstigen Bibliothek von Sidney H. Brown (1898-1970) ausgewählte Archivalien aus den umfangreichen Beständen des Museumsarchivs. Das Archiv wurde 2018 systematisch erschlossen; es beinhaltet unter anderem Urkunden, Briefe, Postkarten, Tagebücher und Fotografien aus dem Nachlass der Familie Brown. Das Schaufenster Archiv wird zwei- bis dreimal jährlich neu bespielt und bietet exemplarische Einblicke in das Archiv des Museums Langmatt. Thematischer Auftakt des Schaufensters Archiv bildet der Einsatz von Sidney H. Brown, erster Sohn von Sidney W. und Jenny Brown, im Abessinienkrieg um 1935/36. Der brutal geführte Eroberungsfeldzug des faschistischen Italiens unter Benito Mussolini in Abessinien (heutiges Äthiopien) wurde damals von verschiedenen Seiten stark kritisiert, unter anderem von Sidney H. Brown.

Die Präsentation zu Sidney H. Brown und dem Abessinienkrieg ist vom 27. Oktober 2019 bis am 22. August 2020 zu sehen.

Besucherinformationen (pdf)